Warning: include(): Filename cannot be empty in /home/content/00/11669200/html/naijatowncrier/wp-content/themes/rehub/header.php on line 92

Warning: include(): Failed opening '' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5_6/lib/php') in /home/content/00/11669200/html/naijatowncrier/wp-content/themes/rehub/header.php on line 92

Ajimobi inaugurates committee for Oyo technical university

Governor Ajimobi stated that pending the constitution of the Governing Council, the committee would exercise the full powers of the Council as contained in the laws setting up the institution.

“It is in this regard that I have decided to select a few men of good quality and experience to midwife the development of the university and constitute its development committee,” he said.

Apart from the university professors, the state government also included some of its officials to the committee.

These, according to him, included the academic brief, the master plan, the conceptual plan, physical design, signing of memorandum of understanding between the university and the Texas Technical University, Lubbock, USA as well as the implementation plan for the development of the institution.

The committee is headed by a former Head of Service of the Federation.

Others include a former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Olufemi Bamiro; a Professor of Economics, Ademola Ariyo; a former Rector of The Polytechnic, Ibadan, Adeniyi Osuntogun; Dan Adebiyi; and A. M. A. Imevbore.

While stating that all the above had already been accomplished, the governor added that what remained was to ensure their quality delivery, which he said, necessitated the inauguration of the development committee.

While speaking at the inauguration ceremony at the Executive Council Chamber of the Governor’s Office, Mr. Ajimobi described the new university as one of the flagship projects of his administration in its efforts at reclaiming the foremost position of the state in the education sector.

He said he had taken some steps to ensure a smooth take-off of the institution.

The Oyo State Governor, Abiola Ajimobi, on Monday inaugurated a 14-member technical committee to ensure a proper take of the Technical University proposed for the state.

Among them are the state Commissioners for Education, Finance, and Justice; as well as the Special Adviser to the Governor on Infrastructure/Urban Development and the Director of Higher Education in the state Ministry of Education.

The committee, headed by Afolabi Oladapo, a former Head of Service of the Federation, has the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Isaac Adewole; acting Vice-Chancellor of Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH), Ogbomoso, Adeniyi Gbadegesin; and the immediate past Vice-Chancellor of the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Femi Balogun as members.

Governor Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo state

Post From Primium Times

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply