Warning: include(): Filename cannot be empty in /home/content/00/11669200/html/naijatowncrier/wp-content/themes/rehub/header.php on line 92

Warning: include(): Failed opening '' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5_6/lib/php') in /home/content/00/11669200/html/naijatowncrier/wp-content/themes/rehub/header.php on line 92

As economic hardship bites harder, Aregbesola cuts state’s ministries to 12

As a result of the continued economic hardship in the state, Governor Rauf Aregbesola of Osun State has cut down the number of ministries in the state from 17 to 12.

In the process, the governor created one new ministry, while merging others.

In a letter of notification forwarded to the Speaker of the state’s House of Assembly, Najeem Salaam, Governor Aregbesola stated that while there would be 12 ministries, nine agencies and bureaus had been brought under his office for direct supervision.

The governor while urging the Speaker to communicate the development to members of the House, also explained that the decision was taken to reduce the cost of governance as well as enhance service delivery.

Mr. Aregbesola explained that the decision to restructure was arrived at after a reappraisal of the machinery of government.

The letter, titled ‘Notification of the Restructuring of Some Existing Ministries and Creation of a New Ministry in the State of Osun’, was dated January 21, 2016.

The 12 ministries listed in the letter to the House of Assembly are: Ministry of Agriculture, Food Security, and Youths Engagement; Ministry of Industries, Commerce, Cooperatives and Empowerment; Ministry of Economic Planning, Budget and Development; Ministry of Education, Science and Technology; Ministry of Environment, Sanitation and Physical Planning; Ministry of Finance; Ministry of Health; Ministry of Information, Home Affairs, Tourism and Culture; Ministry of Justice; Ministry of Local Government, Chieftaincy, Water Resources, and Community Affairs; Ministry of Women, Children, and Social Affairs; and Ministry of Works and Transport.

According to the letter, the nine agencies and bureaus that would be operating directly under the office of the governor are, Office of Regional Integration; Sports Council; Department of Social and Grassroots Mobilization and Guidance; Office of Policy Coordination; Osun Job Centre; Bureau of Lands; Pilgrims Welfare Board (Christian Wing); Pilgrims Welfare Board (Muslim Wing) and Office of Forestry, Natural and Mineral Resources.

Post From Premium Times Nigeria

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply