Warning: include(): Filename cannot be empty in /home/content/00/11669200/html/naijatowncrier/wp-content/themes/rehub/header.php on line 92

Warning: include(): Failed opening '' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5_6/lib/php') in /home/content/00/11669200/html/naijatowncrier/wp-content/themes/rehub/header.php on line 92

DEMOCRACY: INEC Declares APC candidate winner of Katsina Reps Bye-Election

By Seun Aweda

LEGISREPORTS NG – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Sani Aliyu, winner of last weekend’s bye-election into Katsina Central Federal Constituency seat in the House of Representatives.

Declaring the results on Sunday, INEC Returning Officer, Professor Shehu Salihu Muhammad said, Ahmad Shehu Sani of NCP polled 179 votes while Dr. Muntari Kabir Usman of the PDP polled 5,890. Sani Aliyu of the APC polled 21,485 votes to emerge winner.

According to INEC, the number of registered voters in the constituency was 208,384, while 33,428 voters were accredited to vote.

Number of valid votes cast during the poll was 27,554 while 756 votes were declared invalid.

The bye-election recorded a low turnout of voters as only 16 per cent of the total registered voters cast their votes during the bye-election. 

The bye-election was informed by the death of member-elect Sheik Umar Abubakar on June 3 after he was elected for a second term on the platform of the All Progressives Congress.

Post from Legis Reports Ng

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply