Warning: include(): Filename cannot be empty in /home/content/00/11669200/html/naijatowncrier/wp-content/themes/rehub/header.php on line 92

Warning: include(): Failed opening '' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5_4/lib/php') in /home/content/00/11669200/html/naijatowncrier/wp-content/themes/rehub/header.php on line 92

EFCC quizzes Kano Commissioners, Accountant General over alleged N28 billion fraud

A source in the state government told PREMIUM TIMES that the Kano State government officials were interrogated for most part of Sunday and released on bail.

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, on Sunday arrested and interrogated the Kano State Commissioner of Finance Commissioner, Abdullahi Gaya; his Budget and Economic Planning counterpart, Yusuf Bello; as well as the state Accountant General, Danjuma Mahmoud.

They were reportedly kept at the Commission’s office for almost three hours.

The Kano officials were quizzed about a week after the Speaker of the Kano State House of Assembly, Gambo Salau, the Majority Leader, Hamisu Ibrahim and other principal officers were arrested by the Commission over 2013 Budget review that involved the sum of N28 billion.

The lawmakers were whisked away by the EFCC Zonal office in Kano from the Assembly premises after they concluded the business of the day.

Although Mr. Uwujaren denied any political undertone for the previous arrest, it has been alleged that the officials are being persecuted because of the defection of the state governor, Musa Kwankwaso, from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, to the All Progressives Congress, APC, on November 26.

Acting spokesperson of the EFCC, Wilson Uwujaren, confirmed the interrogation when contacted on Tuesday night. He however declined to speak further on the issue.

Although it was not known why they were picked up, it was gathered that they were directed by the anti-graft agency to report back next week.

Officials to report to back to Commission next week.

Mr. Kwankwaso and four other governors, Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto), Chibuike Amaechi (Rivers), Murtala Nyako (Adamawa) and Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara) dumped the PDP following the protracted crisis in the ruling party.

Post From Primium Times

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply