Warning: include(): Filename cannot be empty in /home/content/00/11669200/html/naijatowncrier/wp-content/themes/rehub/header.php on line 92

Warning: include(): Failed opening '' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5_6/lib/php') in /home/content/00/11669200/html/naijatowncrier/wp-content/themes/rehub/header.php on line 92

Mass defection: 27 out of 30 PDP lawmakers decamp to APC in Sokoto

Another member, Abdulsamad Dasuki, also told PREMIUM TIMES that Nigeria’s constitution allows them freedom of association, and that the crisis in the PDP appears to be increasing by the day.

Mr. Wamakko had, alongside four of his fellow governors – Rabiu Kwankwaso of Kano, Rotimi Amaechi of Rivers, Murtala Nyako of Adamawa and Ahmed Abdulfatah of Kwara- announced in October their decision to defect to the APC.

by Oke Efagene

A majority of members of the Sokoto State House of Assembly, have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC), from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

“We are moving in line the decision of his Excellency Governor Aliyu Wamakko to also move over to the APC,” he said. The defectors include the speaker of the assembly and other principal officials.

Premium Times report:

PREMIUM TIMES learnt that the lawmakers moved from the Assembly complex, where they took the decision to defect on Wednesday, to the Sokoto Government House to inform Mr. Wamakko of their decision.

Lawmakers said that out of the 30 members of the Assembly, 27 of them have made the decision to  move to the APC today.

“The PDP Umbrella is torn and we have to follow the wishes of our people,” he said.


Chairman of the House Committee on Information, Malami Basakkwace, told newsmen over the telephone that the members decided to move to APC to follow the state governor, Aliyu Wamakko, who was one of the 5 governors who defected to the APC.

Mr. Dasuki also said the three remaining members may also defect.

“I am sure they would do the same when they finally came back, they were absent today (Wednesday) due to illness and other commitments,” he said.

Mr. Basakkwace also said since the defection of the governors, people from the 27 constituencies have mounted pressure on the legislators to follow the governor. He added that the crisis in the PDP, which led to the factionalisation of the party at both state and national level, also made them leave.

You may also like YNaija stories like:

Post From Ynaija

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply