Warning: include(): Filename cannot be empty in /home/content/00/11669200/html/naijatowncrier/wp-content/themes/rehub/header.php on line 92

Warning: include(): Failed opening '' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5_6/lib/php') in /home/content/00/11669200/html/naijatowncrier/wp-content/themes/rehub/header.php on line 92

National Assembly set to take over Rivers Assembly

Published on December 24, 2015 by   ·   No Comments

Okafor Ofiebor/Port Harcourt

•Rivers State House of Assembly members fighting

•Rivers State House of Assembly members fighting

There is an interesting twist in the outcome of the Rivers House of Assembly election Appeal judgements, which may compel the National Assembly to take over legislative functions and powers of the Rivers State House of Assembly.

The Appeal Court sitting in Abuja had in its various judgements ordered re-run in 22 Assembly constituencies out of the 32-member House that make up the Rivers State House of Assembly.

The PDP has maintained nine seats while the APC is left with just a seat, leaving the Assembly with a total of 10 legitimate members including the Speaker.

The law requires only 11 out 32 member house to be able to form a quorum necessary for any legislative seating. But so far, only 10 members left in the House can not form a quorum and therefore by law will not continue with their legislative functions at least for now.

Below is a breakdown of Rivers State constituency seats won, lost and where there will be rerun:
1. Abua/Odual – PDP
2. Ahoada East I – RERUN
3. Ahoada East II – RERUN
4. Ahoada West – PDP
5. Akuku-Toru I – RERUN
6. Akuku-Toru II – RERUN
7. Andoni – RERUN
8. Asari-Toru I – RERUN
9. Asari-Toru II – RERUN
10. Bonny – RERUN
11. Degema – RERUN
12. Eleme – RERUN
13. Emohua – RERUN
14. Etche I – PDP
15. Etche II – RERUN
16. Gokana – RERUN
17. Ikwerre – RERUN
18. Khana I – PDP
19. Khana II – RERUN
20. Obio/Akpor I – RERUN
21. Obio/Akpor II – RERUN
22. Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni I – RERUN
23. Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni II – PDP
24. Ogu/Bolo – PDP
25. Okrika – PDP
26. Omuma – RERUN
27. Opobo/Nkoro – RERUN
28. Oyigbo – PDP
29. Port Harcourt I – APC
30. Port Harcourt II – RERUN
31. Port Harcourt III – PDP
32. Tai – RERUN
So far: PDP = 9
APC = 1
Rerun: = 22
The forgoing turn of events makes the political calculations and permutations of both the PDP and the APC hazy and difficult, especially as it remains unclear what will be the fate of Governor Nyesom Wike at the Supreme Court.

Meanwhile, Rivers State does not have a representation at the Senate since the three Senators in the state have been sacked by the Court of Appeal, while only one seat is remaining at the House of Representatives.

Posted by on December 24, 2015, 10:17 pm. Filed under News, 2015 Election. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Post from PM News

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply